“I saw that”



I came across The Law of Karma in my spiritual quest, and after study, decided that what I’ve read about it makes sense. Karma ties in with reincarnation, the life you incarnate into is decided by the karma you have accumulated or paid off in previous lives. Karma is automatic and there¬† is no escape from it. It is absolute justice, there is no mercy; or for that matter, no wrath, although every debt must be paid to karma. There is no help from a higher source due to prayer. Karma is not really punishment or reward for good or bad, it’s just cause and effect. It acts as any other natural law.

One writer says of karma: “The good man doesn’t always reap his reward of good results, nor does the wicked man always suffer, not immediately, but eventually and inexorably.”

I’ve learned that there are two ways to look at karma. There is the fear based idea of karma, where you reap what you sow. That karma is the consequences, both good and bad, that are brought to you based on your actions, good and bad. In essence, you are judged for your actions. Or, you can look at karma based on love, where karma is a gift that brings lessons for your soul’s personal growth, and will continue to bring these lessons back around until you have learned them.

Newton’s third law states: ‘For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.’ That is karma. Good deeds bring good karma, bad deeds bring bad karma. It is the law of life and can never be altered. So, whatever you did, soon you will get it.

There are different schools of belief concerning karma. For example; the old school reincarnationists believe karma determines ones rebirth along the lines of desire and attraction. The soul’s character would attract it to rebirth according to its strongest desires, coming into life circumstances that give the greatest opportunity to work out those desires using suffering and the joys of life to grow as a better being.

The Hindu belief is that it is a great rewarder of good, and a great punisher of evil. One’s future state in the next incarnation depends on his goodness in previous lives.

Theosophists believe there is truth in each doctrine. That of the Hindu belief of the moral law of rewards and punishments, and the old school reincarnationists’s natural law idea.

There are three kinds of karma according to Hindu teachings. These are:

1- Samchita, or piled-up karma. Karma that is not yet worked out.

2- Prarabdha, or beginning karma. A persons destiny for that life.

3- Kriomana, the karma we are now making in this life by our current actions.

So, briefly, all unhappiness or pain is the result of some bad deed done in this, or some past life. And happiness, joy, and pleasure is the result of some good deed done in this or a previous life. Every soul will work out its karma and eventually reach God.

This quote gives us a good template to live our lives by: “There is a wonderful mythical law of nature that the three things we crave most in life- happiness, freedom, and peace of mind-are always attained by giving them to someone else.”

-Peyton Conway March


May you always be

Healthy, Happy,

Safe and Comfortable


Kelly Curtis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s